Gangneung Youngdong University wins the Presidential National University Baseball Tournament!

Gangneung Youngdong University’s baseball team won the 57th Presidential National Collegiate Baseball Tournament.

Led by head coach Kim Chul-ki, Gangneung Youngdong University won a dramatic 4-3 final game against Korea University on June 6 at Hwaseong Baseball Theme Park 2. Trailing by one run in the bottom of the ninth inning, the team rallied to win the national championship.

Gangneung Youngdong University’s batting order was Jeon Da-min (center fielder), Yang Do-geun (shortstop), Kim Young-woon (right fielder), Lee Sang-hwa (left fielder), Mok Jin-hyuk (second baseman), Kang Seung-gu (catcher), Lee Young-hoon (designated hitter), Shin Dong-min (first baseman), and Jeong Ye-gun (third baseman). Right-hander Park Jun-young started the game.

Gangneung Youngdong University took the lead in the first inning against Korea University’s Lee Ji-won. In the bottom of the first, Yang Yang-geun led off with a single and advanced to third on Kim Young-woon’s single. Lee Sang-hwa then hit a grounder to shortstop to bring Yang home. In the bottom of the inning, Gangneung Youngdong University added another run. Kang Seung-gu led off with a walk and advanced to second on a sacrifice bunt by Lee Young-hoon. With runners on first and second, Shin Dong-min hit an RBI single to make it 2-0.

However, traditional powerhouse Korea University was not to be denied, as Heo Jin started the rally with an RBI single in the top of the third. After scoring a run in the top of the fifth, Korea University turned the game around in the top of the sixth with a solo home run by Park Chan-jin. After falling behind, Gangneung Youngdong University was unable to capitalize on their chances until the eighth inning. Fortunately, Gangneung Youngdong, which did not allow another run until the top of the ninth inning, had its last offensive opportunity while trailing 2-3.

In the bottom of the ninth, Kang Seung-gu led off with a single, followed by a sacrifice bunt by Lee Young-hoon, an infield single by Shin Dong-min, and an RBI single by Park Jun-ki, who came in as a pinch hitter, to tie the game.

Now it was Gangneung Youngdong’s turn to close out the game. KU walked Jeon Damin to load the bases and opted to face Yang Yang-geun. However, Yang Yang-geun, who had been hitting well with four hits and two RBIs on the day, came through with the game-winning hit. In the final, Yang went 3-for-5 with a home run, one RBI, and one run scored. Shin Dong-min also had a big game, going 4-for-3 with a home run, one RBI and one run scored.메이저놀이터

Park Joon-young pitched four and one-third innings of two-run ball, while Kim Dong-hyun gave up a home run but struck out seven to secure the win in four and two-thirds innings of one-run ball.

Gangneung Youngdong University swept the individual awards. Head coach Kim Chul-ki won the manager’s award, while No. 4 hitter Lee Sang-hwa was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player. Game-winning pitcher Kim Dong-hyun was named the Outstanding Pitcher, while catcher Kang Seung-gu was honored with the Suhoon Award.

No Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *