22 years after ‘submarine finish’ Kim Byung-hyun…Arizona beats Phillies to win World Series

Founded in 1998, the Arizona Diamondbacks of Major League Baseball (MLB) won their first and last World Series (WS-7) title in 2001. Featuring the likes of Randy Johnson and Curt Schilling, as well as Korean “submarine closer” Byung-hyun Kim, the Diamondbacks earned their first championship ring after a thrilling Game 7 victory over the New York Yankees. But it’s been a long road since then.

The Cactus State is looking to make a splash in the postseason (PS) in 2023 and win its first WS in 22 years. The Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-2 in Game 7 of the best-of-seven National League Championship Series (NLCS) on Friday at Citizens Bank Park in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA. After dropping Games 1 and 2 and evened the series with wins in Games 3 and 4, the Dodgers dropped Games 5 and 6 to become the eventual NLCS champions. The Phillies missed a chance to avenge their runner-up finish to the Houston Astros in last year’s WS.

The desperate Arizona bats struck first against Suarez in the first inning, with back-to-back singles by Corbin Carroll and Gabriel Moreno, followed by a Christian Walker grounder to put runners on first and third. But the Phillies, a team of long balls, responded with a tying solo shot by Alec Bomb in the second inning and a two-run double by Bryson Stott with one out in the fourth to cut the deficit to 2-1.

Arizona regained the lead in the top of the fifth. With two outs, Carroll led off with a single and stole second. Gabriel Moreno followed with a single to right field to bring home Carroll and tie the game. Arizona cut the deficit to two runs in the top of the seventh on a sacrifice fly by Carroll with runners on first and second and third. Carroll, who made his big league debut last year, went 4-for-4 with a home run, two RBIs and two runs scored in the Game 7 win.짱구카지노 주소

Arizona’s fall baseball run to the World Series has been a storybook one. After winning the fewest games in the regular season (84-78), the sixth-seeded Cacti started their run with a two-game sweep of Central Division champion Milwaukee (92-70) in the Wild Card Series. Then, in the Division Series, they swept the second-place Los Angeles Dodgers (100-62) in three games, and in the NLCS, they swept the superstar-studded Philadelphia Phillies (90-72), including Bryce Harper.

Arizona’s opponent in the quest for its second WS title is the American League (AL) champion Texas Rangers. Texas clinched the WS with an 11-4 victory over last year’s WS champion Houston in Game 7 of the ALCS the day before. While Arizona waited 22 years for a WS ring, Texas endured more than 60 years. Founded in 1960, Texas has yet to win a WS ring. They did make it to the WS for the second straight year in 2010 and 2011, but they have painful memories of being swept by the San Francisco Giants and St. Louis Cardinals in back-to-back series. Game 1 of the WS between Arizona and Texas will be played at Texas’ home on April 28.

No Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *